dying alone

I don’t want to die alone
I wanna be on TV
and have the June Taylor Dancers
kicking like sequinned savage amazons
I wanna be on the Jackie Gleason Show
in pastel pink Miami Beach, Florida
and have the love I’ve cultivated
to this end
grieve by pulling out her hair
and forever wearing black —
cursing Buddha for His glibness
and passive stupor
I want there to be a cruise ship buffet
and the apostles queuing
networking and debating
the Assumption of the Virgin Mary

I figure I deserve this
life has been hard
and I’ve left far too many umbrellas
in department store cafeterias

2 thoughts on “dying alone

    • for me it was seeing Jack Nicholson on one of those grocery store checkout magazines saying he didn’t want to die alone. I realised then that that meant pulling some other poor soul into it. that’s where the poem came from.

Leave a Reply

